Sibley spring sports wrap-up
Sibley spring sports wrap-up
Posted on 06/14/2017

Spring Sports Wrap-Up GraphicBaseballHead Coach: Greg Fehrman
The Henry Sibley baseball finished their season with a 16-9 overall record. The Warriors posted a 9-6 mark in the Metro East Conference, placing third. Seniors Walter Matos, Joe Ihrke, and Malik Wilson were each named all-conference for the Warriors, with both Matos and Ihrke taking home team MVP honors and Caden Christiansen (10) being chosen as the team’s Most Improved Player. Meanwhile, Christiansen, Sam Gantman (12) and Brian Kolstad (11) received all-conference honorable mentions.

Boys GolfHead Coach: Chad Norman
Captains Joe Graham (12) and Calum Graham (11) led the Henry Sibley boys’ golf team to a 12-33 overall record. Calum also picked up team MVP and Riley Altier (11) was named Most Improved Player for the Warriors.

Girls GolfHead Coach: Tony Kienitz
Led by captains Greta Prokosch (12) and Abby Tetzlaff (11), the Henry Sibley girls’ golf team came up just shy of the Metro East Conference championship, placing second overall. In addition, Prokosch and Tetzlaff received all-conference honors. Lastly, Prokosch voted as the team MVP by her peers and Tetzlaff was chosen as the Most Improved Player for the Warriors.  

SoftballHead Coach: Phil Stohr
The Henry Sibley softball team completed the 2017 season with a 9-13 record overall. Seniors Amber Chow and Erika Kuefler captained the Warriors, who placed fifth in the Metro East Conference. Senior pitcher Chow was named all-conference, while Kalley Partyka (11), Tori Nelson (10) and Jaelyn Orth (9) received all-conference honorable mention awards. Anja Wood (11) was named the Most Improved Player, while Chow was selected as the MVP.

Boys TennisHead Coach: Corey Prondzinski
Two members of the Henry Sibley boys’ tennis team – Charles Rutman (11) and Michael Scherer (9) – received All-Metro East Conference awards for the 2017 season. In addition to his all-conference award, Scherer received team MVP honors and Blake Eckman (6) was named the team’s Most Improved Player. Overall, the Warriors finished the 2017 season with a 4-5 record in matches and placed fifth in the Metro East Conference.

Track and FieldHead Coach: Alana Lucio Thomas (girls) and Dan Sullivan (boys)
For the Henry Sibley boys’ and girls’ track and field teams, the 2017 featured all-conference award winners and state qualifiers.

The girls’ 4x800-meter relay team of Jaylen Rosga (7), Liz Whitcomb (12), Rose Dill (10) and Jamie Herridge (12) accomplished these two feats. The relay team was named all-conference after an impressive performance at the Metro East Conference Championship. The team also earned a spot to compete at the Class AA State Track and Field Meet where they finished in 18th place. Dill added an additional all-conference honor in the 3200-meter run along with Caroline Johnson (11). Whitcomb also picked up an all-conference and Rosga all-conference honorable mention for the 800-meter run. In addition, Caroline Anderson (7) earned all-conference for her performance in the high jump and Clara Dupont (9) received all-conference honorable mention for her performance in the triple jump.

Whitcomb, who served as a team captain alongside Jazmin Corral (11) and Katy VanNatta (10), was named the team MVP for 2017. Leila Rajput (10) was selected as the team’s “most improved.”

The boys’ team was captained by seniors Joe Dill, Lukas Bergstrom and Ben Kemp. Dill, who received team MVP honors, was also an all-conference performer. Bailey Volkmann (10) was voted as the most improved by teammates.

Junior Myles Fleming and senior Jack Korte were both named All-Metro East Conference and qualified to compete at the Class AA State Track and Field Meet where they both received all-state honors. At the meet, Fleming finished 8th in the 3200-meter run, while Korte placed 9th in the 1600-meter run. Other all-conference honorees include: Volkman, Brad Alton (9), Grady Clem (10), Jimmy Elander (11), Sakai Kelly (12) and Gabe Segura (12). Bergstrom and Dill also received all-conference honorable mentions, as did Kemp, Volkmann, Zak Olafson (10) and Tate Schilling (11).