Special Programs

Welcome to School District 197's Special Programs website. Special Programs includes:

SPECIAL EDUCATION
Special education is specially designed instruction based on the needs of an individual student. As required by law, School District 197 provides a free, appropriate public education to students with disabilities from birth through age 21 who attend both public and private schools. This page contains information on District 197’s special education services.
NON-PUBLIC/HOMESCHOOL
In accordance with state law, School District 197 is required to ensure that all school-age children living within the district’s boundaries are being educated. This page contains information on non-public and homeschool procedures.
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE
The ESL Program in District 197 supports learners in acquiring the English they need in order to succeed in the classroom and beyond. This page contains useful information about our ESL program that will be helpful to parents, teachers, students and others.
SECTION 504
Section 504 is a federal anti-discrimination law that protects the rights of individuals with disabilities in programs and activities that receive federal financial assistance from the U.S. Department of Education. This page contains information on Section 504 procedures.   
EQUITY AND INTEGRATION
The purpose of the Equity and Integration program is to pursue racial and economic integration, increase student achievement, create equitable educational opportunities, and reduce academic disparities based on students' diverse racial, ethnic, and economic backgrounds in School District 197.



SPECIAL PROGRAMS STAFF

Marcy Doud,
Assistant Superintendent / Director of Special Programs

651-403-7004 | marcy.doud@isd197.org 

Sara Lein, Asst. Director of Special Education
651-403-7019 | sara.lein@isd197.org 
 

Rachel Johnston, Special Education Coordinator
651-403-7017 |  rachel.johnston@isd197.org
Karen Conway, Financial Specialist
651-403-8369 | karen.conway@isd197.org

Andrea Saenz, Equity & English Learner Program Coordinator
651-403-7012 | andrea.saenz@isd197.org

Molly Engle, Secretary/Intake
651-403-7011 | molly.engle@isd197.org

Laurie Hume, Asst. Director, ECSE 
651-403-8350 | laurie.hume@isd197.org